GEOINFORMATICS RESEARCH PAPERS, publ. BS7000, doi:10.2205/2019IUGG-RU, 2019

Quadrennial Russian National Report 2015–2018

Edited by R. I. Krasnoperov


This Quadrennial Russian National Report was prepared for the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG) on the occasion of the XXVII General Assembly of the IUGG, held in Montreal, Canada, on July 08–18, 2019. This report summarizes the results of research carried out in Russia in the fields of Earth sciences during the period 2015–2018. The aim of this National Report is to inform both Russian and international scientific communities about the research progress that has been achieved in the activities of the IUGG Associations in Russia over the last four years. The report was prepared by the National Geophysical Committee of Russia (

National Geophysical Committee: History and Structure

The National Geophysical Committee of Russia was founded by a governmental decree on July 19, 1954 as the Interdepartmental Committee for planning and preparation of the International Geophysical Year (IGY), which was announced on 1957. This organization was headed by a prominent geophysicist Dr. Grigory Gamburtsev. After his death in 1955 the Committee was headed by the Vice-president of the Academy of Sciences of USSR (AS USSR) Dr. Ivan Bardin. In January 1961 on the basis of the Soviet IGY Committee the Interdepartmental Geophysical Committee at the AS USSR Presidium was organized. For nearly 30 years (1961–1990) the Committee was directed by Dr. Vladimir Belousov. In 1960–1963 Dr. Belousov was in the office of the IUGG President. On the basis of the Interdepartmental Geophysical Committee in June 1992 the National Geophysical Committee of Russia was formed. It operates under the direction of the Earth Sciences Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS). In 1993–2004 the Committee was directed by a well-known seismologist Dr. Gennady Sobolev. On 26 December 2006 Dr. Alexei Gvishiani was approved by the RAS Presidium as the President of the Committee. The Committee is hosted by the Geophysical Center of RAS (

The National Geophysical Committee is the national representative of the Russian Federation in the IUGG and its Associations.

The Committee consists of the Bureau and eight Sections (according to IUGG Associations). The National Geophysical Committee Bureau:

This Quadrennial Russian National Report consists of thematic reports prepared by the Sections of National Geophysical Committee:

Published 4 July 2019.

Citation: Krasnoperov R. I., Ed. (2019), Quadrennial Russian National Report for IUGG: 2015–2018, Geoinf. Res. Papers, Vol. 7, No. 1, BS7000, GCRAS Publ., Moscow,